Digital literacy, skills and fluency

Digital literacy, skills and fluency

online learning and your digital confidence

I started off by doing a “digital confidence profile” test at first I didn’t understand what that even was. It didn’t take me long to understand what it was all about. The “your digital confidence profile” is a test designed to gauge your digital literacy and skills and how comfortable one is when dealing with digital technology. The test is made up of a series of question and upon completion the test generates a list of 6 categories dividing strengths and weakness of different skill sets. A pie chart looking diagram that’s color coded is also generated to give a visual representation of your results.

These are my results.

Screen Shot 2017-09-17 at 6.34.59 PM

If you would like to take “your digital confidence profile” test: here

After completing this test I made my way to Digital Literacies for Online Learning and took two courses. The first course asked you to define digital literacy, skills and fluency as well as several other questions and I needed to look and different resources online and come up with my own interpretation and analysis.

These were the questions.

Screen Shot 2017-09-18 at 9.55.56 PM

If you would like to take this course:  here 

And here are my responses:

1. The Wikipedia definition of digital literacy is really good and well-rounded it contains enough details on the subject for the reader as an introduction but not overwhelming.

3. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Digital_literacy

4. https://www.skillsyouneed.com/rhubarb/digital-skills-modern-workplace.html

5. blog.core-ed.org/blog/2015/10/what-is-digital-fluency.html

6. Digital literacy inherently requires and uses digital skills. Digital fluency is a broader term that encapsulates both literacy and skills but on a higher level. 

7.  It is not reliable in the academic sense but I believe the better question would be “is factual, does it deal with important matters in an informed manner?” for the second question the answer would have to yes.

8. For digital literacy and fluency not because one is a Wikipedia entry and the other is a blog. Digital skills is a bit different because the website cites Cornell university, a well-respected educational institution.

The second course I took part in showed a video of Maha Bali an Associate Professor of Practice at the Center for Learning and Teaching at the American University in Cairo, Egypt. Talking about digital literacy and skills and about teaching both. I found this to be most interesting in this video Prof.Bali does not only discusses her views on the matter but also one of her students’ views. The analogy about cars felt very relatable and my thoughts on this subject is that it is important to learn things of this nature in parallel. I believe some people find skills easier to learn when they understand how they work. Another point touch upon that I found eye-opening was how to behave online I’ve found that concept to be difficult to understand for older generations especially.

The last task I did was head over to (here) and stop at 2 “stations” the first station I stopped at was “podcasting”. I knew what podcasting was going in and had previous experience listening to podcasting but had never really invested time understanding their inner workings. I found my experience at the “station” to be very factual, informative and agreeable.

 If you would like to give the podcast station a go here

The second “station” I stopped at was “online identity”, and the reason I chose this station was because of something discussed in Prof.Bali’s video about how to behave online. I previously noted that it found this concept was difficult to grasp for older generations however I sometimes find myself lost as well and wanted to know more. This station opened my eyes to things I didn’t know as well as strengthen the aspects I knew and practiced on a day-to-day basis. The 2 things that stood out the most in this station were the “digital identity checklist” which is a checklist that helps any internet user monitor his/her activity online. And the second was what the BBC tells their employees when it come to online activity “don’t do anything stupid”.

Overall the experience gained from these activities was beneficial in many ways. It made me understand more about my strengths and weaknesses in regards to my digital skills, made me look closer at my online activity and be able to understand what my digital identity looked like. It also opened my eyes to lingering concepts and process that I was always too lazy to pursue. It however reinforced a lot of my previous understands and skills.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

