Finally Created (TRAGIC): My Narrative Game!

This is a follow-up to two of my previous blog posts if you still haven’t read them or want to revisit them you can do so here for the first one and here for the second. As previously discussed I am creating my own online narrative driven game where you take on decision-making in a character’s life. Last time I had just started the prototyping process and since then I think I’ve come a long way. I’ve done research into the matter as well as speaking to people I know who have either experienced the subject matter on a first hand basis or have friends who have. As expected and foreshadowed the topic I chose is a rather touchy subject and I didn’t really understand how touchy it was until I got a friend to play the very first version of it. Substance abuse is not a light-hearted topic to deal with and finding the balance between entertaining and informative is really hard. This is first and foremost a game, being informative while important I find comes second. The reason I say this is because if you just want to learn about a subject you can go read a book. The goal behind this game is to pull people in, give them a general idea on the topic and if they want to learn more than they can then go read more on the subject. The process got very confusing at times and in trying to remedy this challenge I found myself cutting text down so it wouldn’t get too boring. I also found myself not getting into too much detail, just providing enough detail to paint a picture and have the player fill in the blanks and relate it to his/her life.

 

The process involved me further developing my idea and actually starting to come up with scenarios. This involved having a trigger (something that pushes and/or exposes the player to drug use) with multiple possible outcomes. The name I chose for my game was Tragic and this was for two reasons the first is because substance abuse is a tragic matter and the second is because a lot of people who start doing drugs do so because of tragic and traumatic experiences. The game has two main storylines that are separate but overlap in some cases and let me tell while designing the flow of the game it gets out of hand very fast. Choices multiplied by more choices and finding where they link up and how to link them up to other parts is a tasking endeavor but a fun one. Something else I liked during the process is how little the tool has in getting the message across. Focussing less on the tool and more on the content I found makes for a very positive experience for both game creator and end-user. Well enough of me rambling on here is the link to my game give it a shot and if you like leave a comment down below, improvements, what you liked, what you didn’t like or anything else you can think of.

 

2 thoughts on “Finally Created (TRAGIC): My Narrative Game!

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

